When you upgrade your campaign from Peasant (free) to a paid tier, your subscription will start immediately. You will be charged the subscription price and have immediate access to your new features. When you upgrade your campaign from a paid tier to a higher paid tier, your subscription will be prorated. This means you will only be charged the difference between the plans. You will then gain immediate access to any new tier perks.